Too Much Clutter


Last week I needed to download an important application on my phone. When I  clicked ‘Install’ , I was introduced to a dialogue box, telling me that I am out of memory space and that I must delete other applications to make space for the new one. I was stumped! I sat there for a few moments staring at the choices, scrolling up and down. I just couldn’t do it! Finally, after a painful few minutes I made my choice and clicked ‘Delete’. Woosh! I was gone. Just like that. Letting go of something you’ve had for a long time is painful.
I learned something that day. I learned that although i had applications on my phone that was important and essential, i needed something (at this stage) that was far more important and far more essential.
Your life is like a basket of ‘important’ and ‘essential’ . Right now there may be something of greater importance that needs to get into that basket. You’re stumped! Here’s where the rubber meets the road. You’ll have to take a moment. Think hard. Click ‘Delete’. You may have to ‘delete’ unproductive activities. You may have to ‘delete’ harmful habits. You may have to ‘delete’ the wrong people in your life. You may have to ‘delete’ the people who are in the wrong places in your life.
If you take a moment to stop right now, you’ll discover there is room for some things that are more important and more essential right now. Paul said this,  “What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ” – Philippians 3:8
Essentially Paul is saying, “I have made a choice to ‘delete’ those things that I thought are important and essential, to make room for the one thing that is absolutely important and essential. Let’s de-clutter!
Selvan Govender
MA (in progress. Biblical Studies with a concentration in Education, Clarks Summit University – USA)
Associate Pastor – Caneside Fellowship Centre

Leave a comment